Green me up

With all of the indulgence going around this week (and every week), I am thrilled that my CSA is now in full swing and provides (almost) everything I need to balance all the sugar with lots of green.

IMG_1813.JPG

This week’s salad consists of a 100% CSA base with mesclun, pea shoots, and spinach. Each day, I pack a bunch of those leaves in a giant container and then pack a “dressing” separately for last-minute addition so that I can sidestep the wilt. The dressing for my CSA salad this week consists of CSA garlic scapes (sauteed in olive oil), CSA cilantro, CSA-inspired three-leaf pesto, CSA spinach stems, frozen corn niblets, chopped dried apricot, red wine vinegar, olive oil, sea salt, and freshly ground black pepper.

Img 1736

Thanks to my coworkers, I’ve been able to use my CSA salad all week long as a base for addition enhancements! For Monday’s parents’ group, Inginia and I ordered roast chicken, yellow rice, and beans. I added some of the rice and chicken to turn my glowing green salad into a well-balanced protein powerhouse πŸ™‚

IMG_1733.JPG

Mmmmmmmmmmm.

IMG_1734.JPG

IMG_1735.JPG

On Tuesday, my salad came back again with some of the leftover chicken from Monday and a couple of spoonfuls of Myrna’s homemade rice, beans, and meat (hiding in the top left):

IMG_1772.JPG

The salad has continued to serve me well all week long. Thank goodness for greens!

Of course, every lunch needs a dessert, so I’ve re-invited an old favorite into my life: pumpkin yogurt (equal parts of each) with chopped apples, loads of cinnamon, and hemp seeds:

IMG_1738.JPG

Sigh, it feels so purifying to do a post all about healthy food. I really do love to eat this way — it just gets impossible for me when cake and authentic multi-cultural delicacies lie in wait around every corner!

What is one food you will never ever ever turn down?

14 thoughts on “Green me up

  1. brandi says:

    i love the glowing green goodness from your CSA πŸ™‚

    food I will never turn down….good fresh fruit, homemade cookies, good cake with my name on it πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Gina says:

    Mmm, looks tasty! Chicken and beans is a favorite combo of mine. As for a food I would never turn down…chocolate cake! I may not have to have an entire piece, but at least a bite or two, I can’t say no.

    Like

  3. Alison says:

    I will almost never turn down chocolate chip cookies. Or anything with good chocolate.

    That salad looks great. I love the addition of garlic scapes. And the beans sound wonderful.

    Like

  4. Krista says:

    I would have to say a food group….fruit. Leaning more towards berries and melons and pineapple. I’m not much of an apple/orange/banana girl…

    Lovely salad!

    Like

  5. Gina Boland says:

    Obviously, pretty much anything chocolate I can never turn down! Today it was Olivia’s PB Chocolate cake. She gave Kate some to give to me. Thanks Olivia!

    Like

  6. Erin says:

    I love all the green! It’s how I love to eat too, but I know what you mean about deliciousness lying around. I can never ever pass up Indian food!

    Like

Leave a comment