Going local

Before I left for the party last night, I engaged my mom and John in a little bit of product reviewing. I had brought my packages of Newman’s Own Organics Champion Chip cookies in orange chocolate chip and double chocolate mint chip to my last class celebration on Thursday. Due to the high quantity of fresh Italian cookies, my little Newman’s Owns got lost in the shuffle. I felt confident, however, that they would not survive two nights in my mom’s house, and I was right!

Here’s a little slide show of mom in action.

Contemplation:

IMG_0237IMG_0239

Meditating on the deliciousness:

IMG_0238IMG_0243

The cookies were totally demolished within 10 minutes — and I’m pretty sure both bags were at least halfway full when I brought them out! John loved the crunch, and both preferred the orange chocolate chip cookies (the chocolate mint were the first to disappear, though). Success! (And thank goodness I’m off the hook from eating them. They were just too too too good to have lying around.)

This morning, Steph and Dan picked me up again on their way out of town so that we could go for a quick breakfast. We went to the hot spot of all hot spots in downtown NA: the Town Restaurant. I used to go there for breakfast with my dad when I was little for their amaaaaaazing grilled muffins. Today, I went wild and ordered the special omelet — spinach, tomato, and mushroom — with egg whites.

IMG_0255

It came with sweet potato fries and toast, but I skipped the toast and got extra fries instead. (Actually, I asked for fruit instead of toast, but the waitress told me that there was no fruit on the premises.) I don’t like regular potatoes, so the chance for sweet potato fries is rare, and I had to take advantage!

IMG_0257

Steph got the cinnamon bun French Toast. It was literally an iced cinnamon bun sliced into thirds and French Toasted. Yummmmmm:

IMG_0248IMG_0249

While there, the town Memorial Day Parade went by outside. All the brownies and cub scouts and high school bands and policemen with antique rifles went marching by. It was verrrry exciting because some family members of parade participants happened to be in the restaurant at the same time. We felt like we got in on some prime behind-the-scenes action. (Sort of.) Too bad I did not get a picture! We did, however, get free baby American flags that someone from the downtown association came around to hand out. I think I lost mine in the excitement? Hmmmm …

Back to breakfast, Steph tried to save her frosted bites for last, but she got too full. I had to finish them. It’s important to take one for the team.

IMG_0258

I’ve done cinnamon bun oatmeal, but now I think I may need to start including cinnamon bun french toast in the rotation!

Is there a breakfast hot spot in your hometown?

14 thoughts on “Going local

  1. Karina Pinzon says:

    Mmmm.. I love Newman cookies! I used to devour bags of them when i was a kid.
    The cinnamon bun oatmeal looks great. I am going to try that out 🙂
    Ahh I have so many fun ideas for the week now!

    Like

  2. verbalriot says:

    hahah I love pics of your mom doing the tasting, so cute!

    Brooklyn has lots of places! But my favorite breakfast are my moms amazing omlettes 🙂

    Like

  3. Gina says:

    My favorite place for a good breakfast is a place called First Watch. They are fast and their food is delicious. Instead of toast they provide english muffins. Their fruit is amazing, their eggs are to die for, and it’s all cheap!!

    Like

  4. Susan says:

    Ohmygoodness, I’ve heard of a lot of things french toasted, but not cinnamon rolls! That’s why at restaurants I always eat the part I’m most excited for first 🙂 Well, except dessert… most of the time…

    Like

  5. Melissa @ For the Love of Health says:

    Hey Sarah! I love the mom food tasting pics- haha! My mom would totally be up for some taste-testing too. 🙂

    Your breakfast looks sooooooo amazing! And the cinnamon bun french toast looks so decadent!

    I grew up in a super small town with only two places to get breakfast haha I’ll say they are both good to be safe.

    I hope you enjoy the rest of your long weekend with your fam!

    Like

  6. Christina says:

    Yay for sweet potato fries! I’d take them over plain potato fries any day.

    Ihop’s probably the best breakfast place in my town, although I heard there’s this non chain place that serves the world’s biggest pancakes about an hour away. Me and my Dad have a date to hit it up soon!

    Like

  7. The Novice Berker says:

    Oh my goodness, your mom is TOO cute. That last picture of her with that “eyes closed in culinary enjoyment” face just warmed my heart. 🙂

    Cinnamon bun French toast is probably the most amazing thing I’ve ever heard of. Good gosh!

    Like

  8. Mariposa says:

    Sarah! you guessed right! : )
    so glad you went to Town Rest. I love that place too!

    my favorite bfast spot is in Bridgewater called Good Days- only 15 minutes down the street.. and oh so good!

    Like

  9. Krista says:

    No breakfast hot spot that I know of where I live, but I gotta tell you that I’m happy to hear I’m not the only person on the planet that doesn’t like potatoes!!!

    Like

  10. MaryBe says:

    Hudson’s Diner in Alex Bay has the best homemade toast..it’s like an english muffin, sort of
    Your Mom is too cute doing the taste-off!
    And OMG at all the yummy looking breakfast goodies!

    Like

  11. Alison says:

    Oooh…sweet potato fries…
    One of my favorite breakfast places is a little cafe not too far from our house with fantastic pancake syrup. I’ve never been there for breakfast, but we go there for dinner. We get omelettes with a large pancake on the side. We eat the pancake and then take the omelette home.

    Like

Leave a comment