Happy lunch thwarted

… by an even happier lunch!!

img_2576

*** But first, remember to get cracking on your date recipes for those BSI submissions. The contest is open to everyone, even if you don’t have a blog. If you have no idea what I’m talking about, check here for more information along with a running list of submissions.***

Now back to lunch. Upon her arrival at work this morning, my coworker Vianni made a beeline for me and immediately started unloading tupperwares onto my desk, before she even took off her coat: “Sarah, I have food for you!” Do I not have the most amazing coworkers ever? I left my tofu and veggies in the fridge to eat on Friday (no internship tomorrow because I have class) and replaced them with Vianni’s home cooked meal. She made gandules guisados:

img_2577

And this amazing spicy (as in very seasoned — not spicy hot) chicken:

img_2579

It was delicious. Thank you, Vianni!

Danger, Danger, Danger

Then, my very sweet yet evil coworker Jessica broke out this canister of candy cane caramel corn that she had gotten as a Christmas gift.

img_2588

img_2586

I started out conservatively by crumbling a few pieces on top of my yogurt. From there, things started to deterioriate very rapidly. Here’s a quick photo recap of some damage:

img_2595

img_2583img_2589img_2581img_2592img_2582img_2594

Next up was the candies: lots of pillow mints from the candy jar, a random iced tea flavored candy (that tasted exactly like iced tea!), and a mini candy cane:

img_2599img_2565img_2590

After work and a whole lot of subway drama, I made it downtown to the NYU career center to be an informal mentor for an hour to give advice about grad school and working in the non-profit arena. But I think the students were giving me more advice than I was giving them, haha! While there, I snacked on two more mints and a chai tea (made with skim milk and 1/2 pack of sugar in the raw) and swiped four bags of mini honey grams for another time:

img_2601img_2603

img_2626

From there, Kate (of running club fame) and I hopped over to a nearby organic restaurant for the first event of NYU’s Green Alumni Network. We had a delicious and free dinner that will be showing up in restaurant review form shortly!

After dinner, I got home and made a little desserty snack of two broken pieces of the new honey graham sticks and a tablespoon of my healthy cream cheese icing:

img_2629

And now I’m finally done for the night. Sleep tight!

5 thoughts on “Happy lunch thwarted

  1. Allison says:

    LOL – your post made me think of the Office (do you watch??) where Andy suggests they “record a new incoming message with a little more zing and pep” – and then Jim says “we should record a new incoming message with EVEN MORE ZING AND PEP” – lol….god I hope you watch the Office, otherwise you’ll think I’m crazy!

    Like

Leave a comment